Forum 5

Bowel Cancer Awareness Month - please read

duncan-uk

I've managed to retreive this from the "old site capture" Super Dave was a founder member of our community and we lost him in Late April 2019 - i think its worth reposting.

Over to Dave - RIP fella 😞

"April is bowel cancer awareness month. This post is simply to help educate and raise awareness about one of the most common cancers but also possibly one of the least talked about and deadly - its the second most common cancer killer but can be treated with great rates of success if picked up early.:-D

Reason for posting is personal, ive been battling it for the last 18 months and if there's even a chance I can persuade someone to get checked out earlier and give them a better chance of survival then sharing my story here is worth it. I'm lucky to have got this far because although i had a couple of symptoms I explained them away to myself. As a healthy half-marathon running 40 year old why would I think different right? Well by the time i went to my GP with 3/5 symptoms it had spread to my liver and later my lungs and bits. Survival is a constant cycle of chemo and rest right now,  I dont recommend it, but the alternative when it comes (and there is no question, it is incurable this late on)  is obviously far less desirable.:ph34r:

So please just have a quick look at this stuff, only takes a few seconds, and take a minute to think about whether you have any of the symptoms or if you're old enough qualify for the easy home screening kits-its rare in young people but incidence  rates are growing frighteningly quick. 

SuperDave

BC_UK_BBC(Symptoms)-cropped%20(2).jpg

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/bowel-cancer/symptoms/ "

Edited April 10, 2018 by SuperDave
  • Like 2

• 2 weeks later...

Didn't know the guy but did read this thread on the previous site and greatly appreciate his concern for fellow members by sharing his, obviously, horrible & tragic personal story.  RIP.