Forum 5

Dashcam research

Kopfjaeger

Further to @Andrews topic on dashcams, I thought I'd share my research. I've created this topic, as it isn't strictly a recommendation, but a journey.....

Dashcams come in many versions and huge range of costs. The BMW versions are rebadged aftermarket and for the costs, I think you can get better by using other products.

Before diving deeper, I will explain my 'preferences', so you can understand my perspective. I seek quality and neatness, so I don't want a £20 supermarket product with dangling wires. As an engineer, I'm interested in the technology, so that is also important.

The most important part of a dashcam is the 'camera' and by extension the image sensor. Then the SOC that records the images seen by the sensor;  these are packaged, you can't really mix and match, so you have to hunt the product that may match the technology you want to use.

The most basic resolution and cheapest are the 720p versions. These are ancient and with better versions currently available  probably not worth using.

That leaves 1k, 2k and 4k versions. As of writing I've not seen any 8k versions yet.

Based reviews I've seen, the best sensors are provided by Sony, specifically the Starvis range.  The latest standard is Starvis 2. Common versions are IMX 307, 323, 335 and 415. SONY has loads of various IMX sensors, but they aren't all used for dashcams. There are other image sensor manufacturers, Samsung, Panasonic, but I've not come across dashcams using those sensors. Model version quality doesn't necessarily get better with higher numbers. The 335 model appears to be better for a dashcam than the 415, for example, plus I don't think I've seen any dashcams with IMX415s. The majority of those using Sony sensors use the IMX 307 or IMX 335  with some using the IMX323

The next important aspect is the video encoding. H.264 has been superseded by H.265.